SWIA: A Witch’s First Aid

 

*Spokane Witches In Action (SWIA) will be sharing this blog with Pagans/Witches in Spokane, WA. Posts for SWIA will have the acronymn in the title while all other posts for Pagans/Witches in Spokane, WA will continue to be uploaded as usual.*

“The world breaks everyone and afterward many are strong in the broken places. But those that will not break it kills. It kills the very good and the very gentle and the very brave impartially. If you are none of these you can be sure it will kill you, too, but there will be no special hurry.”
Ernest Hemingway

 

Something comes to mind this inauguration day in a history that I am watching unravel as this article gets written. I think about the last ten years of my life and I think back to the times I was homeless, beaten, drugged, abused, and had my rights returned to me only to watch them return to sender. I write this to those who think about these things. Who can feel the world’s energy call out to protect us from ourselves? I can. Which is why I went into my grimoire and pulled this back out.

It’s something I pull out each and every time I sense familiar feelings of discord coming my way. Many of us are afraid of what is to come and I say this, “Stop being afraid and arm yourself with protection.” I do not mean guns and weapons. But I do mean to use your gifts to protect yourself from the needless, useless, self-defeating energy. Instead, read this and think about how you can come up with non-violent ways to protect yourself against the shit storm of life and its cadence.

Below is a list of recommendations that come from my years of teaching defensive magick to those struggling to deal with their lives.

  • “Bitch, Be Gone!” Powder

“Bitch, Be Gone!” Powder was a find from Tumblr that I couldn’t pass up. It’s simplistic and elegant and most importantly, potent. This stuff can banish lingering negativity from arguments you had with a significant other or with a family member you share a home with as well as many other applications.

You want to spread some on your shoulders to lift that chip off of it, maybe sprinkle some around your office at work to keep Negative Nancy from accounting at bay like some happy life-force draining vampire. Also to keep unwanted Drama Llamas from grazing in your pasture of ‘this is just for me’ and ‘I really don’t want someone to know about this’ meadows.

Finally, the powder is made up of black pepper, rosemary, chamomile, sage and garlic salt. Grind it all together and you get a nice go to for prickly situations.

  • A set of Healing Candles ******** Allow me to make myself perfectly clear. DO NOT USE THESE IN PLACE OF PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL ATTENTION FOR ANY REASON. SOMETHINGS DISGUISE THEMSELVES AS OTHER THINGS ALTOGETHER. SEEK OUT PROFESSIONAL MEDICAL ATTENTION FOR ANYTHING THAT YOU SENSE OR FEEL IS WRONG. A HEALING CANDLE WILL NOT CURE YOU OF ANYTHING. ********

Any person will tell you of a constant chronic symptom that seems to ail them anywhere from water on the knee to carpel-tunnel. You will find these constant, groans and moans of displeasure and sickliness. Which may call you to action in any way you can to silence their very apparent discontent. Dealing with chronic anything can get the better of any one person or educated healer. Remember that having a set of Healing candles can illuminate areas that may be yet discovered in forms of treatment or finding new ways to deal with the pain.

Having a set designated for each and every person suffering can be a stretch but there are ways to get around this. Having a candle that is Red will help those suffering from great fatigue from heavy medications that they seem to be on. As you light the candle just say whom you are lighting it for and its purpose. When you feel you have made a difference extinguish and save for another time. No point in tossing a well-purposed candle should you need more of its vibration in the future.

Choosing a Green Candle for situations of nausea, upset stomach, and vomiting has made a difference in my world. The green vibration is known for calming and subduing stressful situations and your core is no different.

Coming to close, finally having a Blue Candle will help with any emotional drag you might sense or feel at any given time. Allow the vibration to resonate within and let go. Having too much of any emotion for too long leaves stress on the body and mind to fight off illness.

  • Luck Changing Dice

Rolling the dice is a great example of how this amulet works. You take a chance at creating a new form of luck for you. Nothing wrong with that unless of course, you plan on rigging the outcome of something beyond you. Thus bringing you bad luck as your reward. Changing luck can be tricky but once you get the hang of it, you should be fine.

Everyone has stories of how they are just having a cruddy day filled with the worst luck. Spilling coffee all over themselves on their first day working at Target, or having homeless people in Seattle steal your smelly shoes then returning them to you’re a day later.

No? Well, those all happened to me.

Which drove me to use my lucky dice that I have tucked away on my person most of the time. I rolled snake eyes my first go and thought to myself how unlucky I thought that was. Which brought me bad luck. Then I rolled again and got double six’. That made me feel better and I noticed that I started to feel better about my situations. Thus, CHANGING MY LUCK!

  • An Anger Charm

If you are anything like me, which if you have laughed at any point during this blog post then you definitely are like me in some way, then you struggle with your temper from time to time. I practice my craft mucho with crystal and stones. I have learned a great deal about myself in relation to these sages from eras long before the T-Rex and all his short armed, loud mouthed, scaly but not scary glory.

I learned about how a vibration can change your mood or your outlook on situations and circumstances you encounter on a daily basis. The first thing I learned was about how Amber, yes the resin that isn’t a real crystal or stone, shuuuuuuuuuuuuuussssssshhhhhh, and how it protects the wearer from extreme emotion. So I decided to test drive it by carrying a piece of it in the form of an earring. This made a significant change because people were remarking on it more than anything which made me feel good about myself thus eliminating anger.

Final Thoughts and Recommendations on things to add to your Witches’ First-Aid

  • Personal Power Charger – that being a toy or picture or what have you that when holding or seeing it charges your personal power like granting you a second wind.
  • Storm Spell – Channel your disposition in a way that helps the area you live. Calling for a storm clears away stagnant energy and is healthy for the environment.
  • “Return to Sender” Mirror – If you sense something is a foot. Picture in your mind and then hold a mirror pointing away from you to send that thing/emotion/thought away from you and back where it came from.
  • An array of Love salts, powders, oils and more – Having things to leave as offerings in places that you find powerful can be a great way to give those around you a boon.
  • Cords for any occasion – Knot magick is an excellent example of ways to ‘tie up loose ends’ or trap energy in its tracks.

One last thing I will say is that you need to remember that during this time we are not to do things that push us backwards or that can be used against us. All defensive magick is about is creating obstacles that your enemy cannot overcome.

Protection.

Release.

Cleanse.

Purify.

Heal.

Those are the words of Defensive Magick. Think about that each time you pull out your First-Aid Kit.

Koriandr ‘Wytcher’

Leave a Reply

