Merry Meet: Robin

My name is Robin. I claim San Francisco as my heart-home, although I was born in Kansas, and spent fifteen years in The Ozarks, before deciding to start a new life in Spokane with my son. We have been here only a few months, but it felt like home immediately.
I came to the pagan path at age twenty when my then roommate introduced me to tarot cards. Reading cards is still my go-to method of divination, and I have begun playing with my crystal ball. I am clairsentient, which is a wonderful gift when I use it properly and can also overwhelm me when I don’t ground and shield.
I admit I am a typical Libra and adore pretty, shiny things that smell good. I am rebuilding my rock and crystal collection that I lost in one of our moves when I was a little girl, and am often playing with essential oils. I have mostly been a solitary witch, and don’t have a lot of time these days to practice elaborate ritual. This has forced me to simplify and refine what magick means to me.
It all comes down to focused intention and using tools to that end. I love making magick in the kitchen by cooking up good vegan food, blessing it with my intention to nourish and nurture those who eat it as much as I love doing a ritual for creating or releasing things for myself.
I follow a Khemetic path, as I am a devotee of Bast and Sekhmet. But, I love to read, learn and discover similarities and differences among paths, gods and goddesses. I work with Hindu and Buddhist deities as well, and sometimes practice rootwork, using the Bible for spells. My workings became a lot more enjoyable and effective once I got serious about my mindfulness practice. I recommend committing to a sitting practice to anyone who wants to be a witch. Mindfulness is the practice of noticing “what is” without judgment. It helps me clarify my will, check-in with my ego, acknowledge emotions and focus my intention.
There are so many books that have helped me along my path – it’s difficult to name just a few!
But, if I must, I have to say that Starhawk’s “Spiral Dance” was the first book to put in writing so much of what I intuitively felt to be true for me. Nicki Scully and Normandi Ellis are amazing writers and teachers for those of us who love the Egyptian pantheon. Ellis’ “Dreams of Isis” is at the top of my list of favorites right now. T. Thorn Coyle developed her Morningstar Mystery School after beginning in the Reclaiming and Feri traditions. Her book, “Kissing The Limitless” is invaluable and I love her podcast, “Elemental Castings.”
My basic advice for fellow pagans is to always remain curious, keep questioning, learning and refining what is true for you on your path. And please come to Spokane Pagan Meetups so we can all connect and share!

Blessed be!

Leave a Reply

